To consolidate, disseminate, and gather information concerning the 710 expansion into our San Rafael neighborhood and into our surrounding neighborhoods. If you have an item that you would like posted on this blog, please e-mail the item to Peggy Drouet at pdrouet@earthlink.net

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Preview of September Metro Service Councils Meetings


By David Hershenson, September 2, 2013

After taking the month of August off, Service Councils will resume their normal meeting schedules in September. As usual, a wide range of topics will be covered at the different meetings. Please note that some of the presentations are tentative at the time of this posting.

All Service Council meetings include a report from Metro Service Council Director Jon Hillmer providing previous month’s statistics on ridership, performance and other measures of Metro service. In addition, a recap of the July 29th Meet and Confer session with CEO Art Leahy and representatives from all Service Councils will be provided at each meeting.

In addition, September meeting topics specific to each Service Council include:

San Fernando Valley (6:30 pm, Wednesday, 9/4) – Recognition of San Fernando Valley Service Councilmember Dina Garcia, Report on Line 161 Proposed Changes, Review former Chair’s Recommended Service Reallocations for Proposed Line 588X Creation.

San Gabriel Valley (5 pm, Monday, 9/9) – Receive update on Line 485 Regional meeting, Update on I-710 North Study.

Westside/Central (5 pm, Wednesday, 9/11) – Receive report on Expo Bus/Rail interface – one year later, Update on Expo Line Phase II Construction, Receive Corridor Study Update.

Gateway Cities (2 pm, Thursday, 9/12) –Receive report on Integration of the Willowbrook/Rosa Parks Station, Update on Florence Avenue Corridor Study, Update on Norwalk Green Line Station Improvements, Discussion on Potential Gateway Cities Service Council Meeting Dates, Times and Locations, Report on July 26 ADA Anniversary Activity at Union Station.

South Bay (9:30 am, Friday, 9/13) Receive Report on Integration of the Willowbrook/Rosa Parks Station, Receive Report on Harbor Gateway Transit Center Working Group.

For a detailed listing of all Council meeting dates, times and locations, click here. As always, the public is encouraged to attend and share their comments with the Service Councils on improving bus service throughout LA County. If you would like to provide input to a Council but cannot attend a meeting, you can submit your comments in writing through the Service Council web page or send them to service councils@metro.net. If your comments are for a specific Council, please make sure to indicate which one you are addressing in your e-mail.

San Gabriel Valley

Service Council Areas - San Gabriel Valley - Download PDF
Roxy on the Ohoopee
Grab and drag to zoom

The San Gabriel Valley region includes the cities of Alhambra, Altadena, Arcadia, Baldwin Park, Covina, Diamond Bar, Duarte, East Los Angeles, El Monte, Industry, Irwindale, La Canada Flintridge, La Puente, Monrovia, Montebello, Monterey Park, Pasadena, Pomona, Rosemead, San Gabriel, San Marino, Sierra Madre, South El Monte, South Pasadena, Temple City, Walnut, West Covina and some unincorporated areas of Northeast Los Angeles County.
The San Gabriel Valley Service Council usually meets the second Monday of each month at 5 pm in the 3rd Floor Service Council Room of the Metro Division 9 building, adjacent to El Monte Station located at 3449 Santa Anita Avenue in El Monte. The public is encouraged to attend and provide input to assist the Service Council to improve area bus service. If you would like to comment on topics on the Service Council agenda but cannot attend, or to receive monthly San Gabriel Valley Service Council meeting agendas, email servicecouncils@metro.net.
The San Gabriel Valley Council was formed in 2002, and is comprised of five elected officials and four non-elected officials nominated by LA County Supervisors Gloria Molina (1st Dist) and Michael Antonovich (5th Dist), the San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments (COG), and city clusters in the San Gabriel Valley, and appointed by Metro's Board of Directors. Current San Gabriel Valley Service Council Representatives are listed below with their nominating authority, appointment date, and current term:
Harry Baldwin
Non-Elected, LA County Supervisor, 5th Dist
Appointed 3/26/2009 Current Term 7/1/2013-6/30/2016
John Harabedian Vice Chair
Sierra Madre City Councilmember, Pasadena / Sierra Madre / La CaƱada-Flintridge City Cluster
Appointed 2/28/2013
Current Term:
Juventino Gomez
El Monte Mayor Pro Tem, Arcadia / El Monte / Temple City City Cluster
Appointed 6/28/2012
Current Term 7/1/2012-6/30/2015
Alex Gonzalez
Non-Elected, San Gabriel Valley COG
Appointed 9/25/2008
Current Term
John Harrington
San Gabriel City Councilmember, Alhambra / S. Pasadena / San Marino / San Gabriel City Cluster
Appointed 6/28/2012
Current Term 7/1/2011-6/30/2014
Bruce Heard
Non-Elected, San Gabriel Valley COG
Appointed 6/26/2003
Current Term
Steven Ly
Rosemead City Councilmember, Montebello / Rosemead / Monterey Park City Cluster
Appointed 4/22/2010
Current Term 7/1/2013-6/30/2016
Dave Spence
La Canada Flintridge City Councilmember, San Gabriel Valley COG
Appointed 2/27/2003,
3/24/2005, 6/28/2007
Current Term 7/1/2013-6/30/2016
Rosie Vasquez
Non-elected, LA County Supervisor, 1st Dist
Appointed 2/27/2003
Current Term 7/1/2012-6/30/2015
Dave Hershenson
Community Relations Manager, Gateway Cities / San Gabriel Valley