To consolidate, disseminate, and gather information concerning the 710 expansion into our San Rafael neighborhood and into our surrounding neighborhoods. If you have an item that you would like posted on this blog, please e-mail the item to Peggy Drouet at pdrouet@earthlink.net

Monday, October 21, 2013


From Sylvia Plummer, October 21, 2013

What is happening:
Although the Board passed a motion in June to remove the SR-710 North project from the list of Measure R projects for accelerated funding, a motion has been submitted (see attached) to reinstate the SR-710 North project to the list for accelerated funding.  The issue appears as item 71 on the agenda for this week's Board Board meeting, which will be held on Thursday, Oct. 24th at 9:30 a.m. 
You can view the agenda and associated staff reports (links within agenda) here:  http://media.metro.net/board/Agendas/2013/10_october/20131024arbm.pdf

How you can help:
Send Metro a letter via email AND call the Board's secretary with your comments on why the motion should be rejected.
You can use the following summary of why the motion should be rejected:

1.  The June 2013 motion was properly acted upon, because the notice and agenda for that meeting referred t0 Measure R Financing.

2.  The motion that passed in June did not exclude any project from further consideration; it only declined to accelerate funding for the one project that
 A.  Has not even been defined, as the 710 North Project is one in which a project will not be selected until completion of an EIS/EIR;
 B.  Unlike the other projects, does not even have a draft EIS/EIR;
 C.  Faces substantial community opposition in its tunnel-alternative form, including all but one of the cities in the 710 corridor (Los Angeles, Pasadena, 
South Pasadena, La Canada-Flintridge, Glendale and Sierra Madre -- all the resolutions opposing the SR-710 extension can be found at www.no710.com).

3.  The complete funding of worthy and consensus projects should not be jeopardized by diluting it with a premature advancement of 710 North.
 The EIR/EIS has not been completed and a locally-preferred alternative has not yet been named.  

Submit emails to all Board members, secretary and the CEO at the following email addresses:

Metro Board Secretary, Michele Jackson:  boardsecretary@metro.net    (213) 922-4605

Arthur Leahy, Metro CEO:  LeahyA@metro.net
• DlaneDuBois., Chair, Councilmember, City of Lakewood:   citycouncil@lakewoodcity.org

• ErIc Garcettl, Mayor, City of Los Angeles:  mayor.garcetti@lacity.org
• Michael D. Antonovich, LA County Supervisor, 5th Dist.:  fifthdistrict@lacbos.org

• Mike Bonin, Councilmember CD11:  mike.bonin@lacity.org
• John Fasana, Councilmember, City of Duarte:  fasanaj@accessduorte.co

• Don Knabe, Los Angeles County Supervisor, 4th Dist.:  RVelasquez@lacbos.org
• Paul Krekorlan, Councilmember CD2 councilmember.Krikorian@lacity.org

• Gloria Molina, LA County Supervisor, 1st Dist.:  molina@bos.lacounty.gov
• Ara Najarian, Councilmember, City of Glendale;  anajarian@ci.glendale.ca .us

• Pam O'Connor, City Council Member, Santa Monica:  pamoconnor@smgovnet
• Mark Ridley-Thomas, LA County Supervisor, 2nd Dist.:  drosenfeld@bos.lacounty.gov

• Zev Yaroslavksky, LA County Supervisor, 3rd Dist.:  thirddistrict@lacbos.org

• Jackie DuPont-Walker, City of Los Angeles Appointee: jdupont@aol.com
• Carrie Bowen, Director Caltrans District 7, Non-Voting:  carrie.bowen@dot.ca.gov